CEMAP Qualification » CeMAP Syllabus and Exam Guide

CeMAP Syllabus and Exam Guide

The CeMAP syllabus consists of a total of 7 papers, which are assessed as part of 3 modules.


Unit 1 – Introduction to Financial Services Environment and Products

Unit 2 – UK Financial Services and Regulation

Both units in this introductory module provide a good exploration of the financial services environment and a good overview of the main financial service products. CeMAP 1 also looks at the legal framework that the financial services industry operates in, and looks at the relationship between legislation and regulation.

View the detailed CeMAP Module 1 detailed syllabus, aims and learning outcomes.


Unit 3 – Mortgage Law, Policy, Practice and Markets

Unit 4 – Mortgage Applications

Unit 5 – Mortgage Payment Methods and Products

Unit 6 – Mortgage Arrears and Post Completion Issues

The 4 units of CeMAP 2 build upon the foundations of knowledge in CeMAP 1, and includes a detailed look at the policies, procedures and legislation when purchasing a property, and also looking at the potential issues that may be faced by customers after a mortgage has been completed. Focussing the student’s understanding of the different types of mortgage and financial products that may be available for a customer, CeMAP 2 also develops the students understanding of the need to explore the suitability of these products for their customer.

View the detailed CeMAP Module 2 detailed syllabus, aims and learning outcomes.


Assessment of Mortgage Advice and Knowledge

CeMAP 3 consists of a case study that is designed to bring together the knowledge andskills that the student has acquired during the previous two modules. Students will be required to take the part of a mortgage advisor and assess a client’s needs and circumstances and identify an affordable and suitable mortgage solution.

View the detailed CeMAP Module 2 detailed syllabus, aims and learning outcomes.

What next after you have completed the CeMAP syllabus?

Once you’ve completed all three CeMAP syllabus papers, you can then go on and complete the Diploma in Mortgage Advice and Practice.